Written by Squadron Energy |

Expressions of interest are being sought for nominations of community members to participate in the Community Consultative Committee (CCC) for the Jeremiah Wind Farm, near Adjungbilly, NSW. Up to six positions are available for community representatives. The CCC will be formed under the direction of the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment (DPIE) for State Significant Projects and an Independent Chair has been appointed by DPIE to facilitate the meetings.

The proposed Jeremiah Wind Farm is located be approximately 25 km east of Gundagai, NSW, within the Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional Council area. The proposed project currently comprises 65 wind turbines, battery storage and associated infrastructure. CWP Renewables is developing the project which is in the early stages of planning.

The purpose of the consultative committee is to provide a forum for discussion between representatives of wind farm developer, the local community, council and other stakeholders on issues directly relating to the assessment, the construction and the operation of the project.

Ongoing community relations are an important function of the committee. It is anticipated that the CCC will meet regularly for the life of the wind farm. The frequency of meetings may vary as the project progresses, usually meeting four times per year during development and construction, then once or twice per year during operations.

Committee members will be appointed as individuals and will not be expected to represent specific organisations. If you represent a community group you are involved in, please outline this in your nomination form. Candidates will be selected by DPIE to allow a broad cross section of views to be brought to the committee.

For more detail on the CCC process and role of members please refer to the Community Consultative Committee Guideline for State Significant Projects, January 2019 (NSW DPE).

The main selection criteria for CCC members are:

  • Experience and confidence in providing feedback to the community and relevant stakeholder groups
  • Resident in the local area with a broad awareness and knowledge of local issues
  • Ability to attend around (four) meetings a year
  • Members must adhere to the committee’s code of conduct.

To discuss any aspect of the nomination process please contact the chair of the CCC (as appointed by the Secretary of the NSW Department of Planning, Industry and Environment), Mr Peter Gordon on 0417 064 767 or peter.gordon@charterpoint.com.au.

Please send your nomination form to:

Attention: Peter Gordon, Independent Chair
Jeremiah Wind Farm CCC - Expression of Interest


PO Box 5519
Kingston ACT 2604

Expressions of interest close on 26 November 2021

Please note:

  • Membership of the CCC is on a voluntary basis
  • Nominations for membership of the CCC will be received by the Independent Chair and approved by the NSW Department of Planning, Industry & Environment


Other Articles